navigation bar
Rockville Centre Public Library
Homework Help, Online Databases

Online Databases for Children

Live Librarian

Login using your library card barcode.

Art
Grove Music Online
Full text, includes access to The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Includes sound clips!
Grove Art Online

Full text of The Dictionary of Art and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
Includes over 3,000 art images and line drawings.

Biography
Gale Group
Biography Resource Center and the Biography & Genealogy Master Index.
Search for people---both current and historic from all eras and fields by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender.

Encyclopedias
CREDOreference
Full text of the best reference books, along with images, customizable data, visual concept maps of results, sound, maps, and more.
Facts on File

World News Digest (news from 1940 - present); Issues & Controversies; Today's Science; World Almanac;
World Almanac Encyclopedia.
Facts for Learning
For Grades 2 - 5, search by topic. Includes World Almanac for Kids,
Spanish-language World Almanac for Kids, Weekly Reader News, picture gallery, reference books and more.
World Book Online Reference Center
Offers much more than the print version! Includes Encyclopedia, Spanish-language Encyclopedia, Atlas, Explore New York and more!
      
Enter the first five numbers of your library barcode for username and password.
top

General Reference
CREDOreference
Full text of the best reference books, along with images, customizable data, visual concept maps of results, sound, maps, and more.

EBSCO Searchasaurus

For Grades K - 8, offering keyword and subject searching, with full text option. Includes images.
Kids Search
For Grades K - 5, search by keyword or by topic. Results can be easily sorted by source type - -magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.
Infotrac Junior Edition - K-12
For Grades K - 5, with full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Kids InfoBits
For Grades K - 5, offering curriculum-related, age appropriate, full text content. Reading levels are assigned to each article: "easy" and "more difficult."
ProQuest
Full text and graphics for many national newspapers, including Newsday (1985 - current), The New York Times (1980 - current), The Washington Post (1987 - current), and The Wall Street Journal (1984 - current).
Community Resource Database of Long Island (CRDLI)
Free, online directory of health, human services, education agencies and programs on Long Island.


Geography
Country Watch
Current news on the countries of the world, including political, economic, business information, daily news and data. top Great for flags, maps, currency and more!

History
Gale Group
History Resource Center: US and the Student Resource Center - great for primary sources!
Facts on File
: World News Digest
U.S. and World News from 1940 - present. Includes maps, photographs, historic documents, news makers, and special overviews of key issues.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
The New York Times (1851 to 2003) and Hartford Courant (1764 -current) , using Adobe Acrobat Reader (Historical databases cannot be searched in combination with non-historical databases).

Literature
Gale Group
Literarture Resource Center; Scribner Writers Series; Student Resource Center-Bronze
; The Twayne Authors Series.
LitFinder

Full-text poems, stories, essays, plays, and speeches.top
NoveList K-8
A wonderful resource for lovers of fiction! Search by author, title, series or keyword. Find author read-alikes, award winning book lists and much more!
TumbleBooks Library
An online collection of flash animated, talking picture books to listen to or read along at your own speed. Titles available in English, French, Spanish, and Chinese. Download the free flash 6 plug-in needed to view animated books at the site's help option.

Science
EBSCO (General Science Collection)
Full text articles from more than 60 of the most popular science publications, providing information on all aspects of the scientific world.
Facts on File

Today's Science has science news written especially for students, bridging the gap between textbooks and what's happening in science today.


Just for Kids Internet Links Calendar